Adolfo Ramirez-Zamora, MD

ramierz-zamora_adolfo_experts-3Associate Professor of Neurology

Phone: (352) 273-5550
Fax: (352) 273-5575

Department of Neurology

Room L3-100, McKnight Brain Institute
1149 Newell Drive
Gainesville, FL. 32611


Dr. Adolfo Ramirez Zamora is currently an Associate Professor of Neurology and director of clinical trials at the University of Florida, Center for Movement Disorders and Neurorestoration which is part of the Center for Translational Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases and the McKnight Brain Institute. Dr. Ramirez practiced neurology over the past 5 years at the Parkinson’s Disease and Movement Disorders Center at Albany Medical Center where he served as an Associated Professor of Neurology and the Philly E. Dake Chair in Movement Disorders. Dr. Ramirez completed a surgical internship at Mercy hospital of Philadelphia along with a medicine internship At Bassett Healthcare Hospital in Cooperstown, NY. He then went on to complete his neurology residency at Loyola University Chicago followed by fellowship training in movement disorders at the University of California San Francisco. Dr. Ramirez’s unique areas of expertise encompass management of the entire spectrum of movement disorders, cerebellar ataxias and the use of botulinum toxin injections and Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) for the treatment of movement disorders.

His research interests include investigating new DBS surgical and programming techniques in movement disorders, understanding the neurophysiological brain changes observed in these conditions and the use of neuromodulation for the treatment of uncommon neurological diseases. Dr. Ramirez has a strong interest and experience in conducting clinical trials in Neurology. His clinical focus comprises evaluation of experimental therapeutics in neurology with interested in developing newer treatments in movement disorders.  He serves as a member of the Diversity leadership program and Science Committee at the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) and he is an active member of the Ataxia foundation, Movement Disorders Society, Parkinson Study Group, and Huntington Study Group.


Education and Training

2009-2010 Movement Disorders Fellowship University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, CA
2006-1009 Neurology Residency Loyola University Chicago, IL
2005-2006 Internal Medicine Residency Bassett Healthcare Cooperstown, NY
2004-2005 Preliminary Surgery Residency Mercy Catholic Medical Center Philadelphia, PA
2000-2001 Rotary Internship Instituto Nacional de las Ciencias Médicas y la Nutrición (National Institute of Medical Sciences and Nutrition) Mexico City, Mexico
1995-2002 MD Universidad Autónoma de Guadalajara Guadalajara, Mexico


Academic Honors & Awards


  • NINDS Clinical Trials Methodology Course award recipient. NINDS (2015). Selected for participation in this program to develop expertise in clinical trials. Title of the project: “Globus Pallidus Interna Deep Brain Stimulation for treatment of pain and non-motor symptoms in Parkinson’s disease.
  • Diversity Leadership Program Award recipient. American Academy of Neurology (2015). Recipient of the first diversity leadership class created by the Academy of Neurology to recognize and foster new leaders in the field.
  • Richard Tyler Fellowship Award recipient. American Academy of Neurology (2015).
  • Phyllis E. Dake Endowed Chair in Movement Disorders. First Incumbent of the Phyllis E. Dake Endowed Chair in Movement Disorders. Albany Medical Center, Neurosciences Institute (2014).
  • Dentinger Award. Albany Medical Center. Neurology department award for dedication and excellence in resident’s education (2013).
  • Travel grant award, The NINDS Clinical Trial Methods Course, August 2011, Vail CO.
  • Travel grant award, 3rd Annual Translational and clinical research course for clinician-Scientists, John Hopkins University (2011)
  • Frank Rubino Excellence Award (2007 & 2009). Loyola University Annual neurology department award for exceptional patient care and clinical excellence.
  • Loyola MAGIS Star Award, Loyola University. Loyola University Health System committee’s award earn by employees who have extraordinarily displayed the MAGIS principles of care, concern, respect and cooperation for patients (2007 & 2009)
  • Peer-selected Neurology department representative for Housestaff Governance Committee (2008 & 2009)
  • Neurology RITE achievement award. Award for the highest Neurology in-service training examination score among neurology residents (2007, 2008, 2009)
  • UAG Medical School Excellence Award. Honor as the best student in graduating class (2002). “Dr. Angel Leano” Academic Excellence Scholarship. Full tuition merit scholarship at the Autonomous University of   Guadalajara (1995-2002)
  • Academic Student Association Committee at the Autonomous University of Guadalajara (1997-2000).