Dr. Irene Malaty takes helm at Florida Society of Neurology

Irene Malaty, M.D., an associate professor in the department of neurology, has been chosen as president of the Florida Society of Neurology.

Malaty first became involved with the society as a resident, and over more than a decade, she has served in several roles, including resident board member and secretary. The first woman chosen as president, she will take the helm of the 338-member organization as it marks its half-century anniversary in 2018.

“It is a great honor to step into this role, as I have worked together with several great leaders of the organization for more than a decade, and have learned from their contributions and the evolution of the organization,” Malaty said.  “I hope to continue their trend of bringing individual talents together and working to ultimately benefit the care of neurological patients in our state.”

The FSN brings together neurologists from multiple types of practice settings to advance the common goals of promoting neurological education, advocating for patient needs and working to address practice issues to best care for patients.

“The society is special in that it unites neurologists from different geographical locations and different types of practices — academic, solo practice and group practice — and gives them a voice together,” Malaty said.

Additionally, 3 other UF neurologists were also elected to office.  Drs. Augusto Miravalle and Maria Hella were elected to the board for the year as was resident Dr. Matt McAdams.